Strathearn Harriers - New Year's Day Run 2014

Crieff 10k

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

The club’s annual 10k trail race took place on Sunday July 12 on a slightly overcast day, with tricky conditions underfoot for the race after overnight rain, run as usual from the Morrison’s playing fields at Dallerie, over Laggan Hill to Trowan farm and back to Dallerie via Lady Mary’s Walk, making this one of the most scenic 10k races in Scotland.

The race is growing every year and attracted a record number of entries with over 260 running this year. Race winner was defending champion Robert Gilroy of Ron Hill Cambuslang in a time of 34.39. Although this was 2 minutes down on his time last year, this was a fine run from Robert, who had been racing (and winning) over 5k the previous evening. Robert is a regular at the Crieff 10k and is the course record holder, and it’s great to see him performing at such a consistently high level. Gavin Bryson of Edinburgh AC was second in a fine 34.55, while Ray Creswell of Aberdeen AAC was third in 37.48. First woman was Melissa Wylie of Dumbarton AC in a commanding 41.41, well ahead of Louise Tyler in 43.34, improving on her third place finish last year. Third woman this year was Anne Hartmann in 43.37.

First local man was Gabriele Bucciarello in an excellent 4th position in 38.19, holding off first Strathearn Harrier Wattie Mackay in 5th position, in a time of 38.26, to take yet another 1st MV50 prize. Charlie Grimson (8th, in 38.52) and Sandy Storey (18th, in 41.25) made up the first three Harriers to finish and take the team prize. Needless to say, efforts are being made to persuade Gabriele to join the club!

First of the Harriers women to finish was Ruth Clark ((49.24), with Rachel Gallagher (53.18) taking the prize for first local woman. Third female Harrier was new member Alana Dawson in 54.12.

Full results are here.

Prizes were presented by Craig Copland of The Handy Shop who provided support for the race. Thanks also go to Morrison’s Academy, without whom the race could not happen, to Highland Spring for the water, and the pipers of Comrie Pipe Band, strategically positioned around the course.

While the main race was underway, the Junior 1 mile race was run. Overall boys winner was Alex Douglas in a new record time of 5.41, with Kyle Middleton hot on his heels in 5.43, and Gregor Collins just another second behind in 5.44. For the girls, Holly Kirkwood was first, also setting a new course record in 6.25, followed by Georgia Douglas in 6.55 and Hannah Teape in 7.35. Full Junior results are here.

Once again, club members pulled out all the stops to support the race. Hats off to Nicola Watson for the flawless organisation of race marshals and all the volunteers, to Gordon Morrison and Al Nicholl for the super-speedy results service, to Julia Greenlees and her team organising the Juniors event, to Shelagh Wake and Lesley Johnston and their catering crew for the splendid post-race spread of sandwiches and cakes prepared by club members.