Strathearn Harriers - New Year's Day Run 2014

Brig Bash

Sunday, July 17, 2016

The latest Harriers championship race was the Brig Bash, a 5-mile road race around Bridge of Earn, run last Wednesday evening, in slightly damp but otherwise good running conditions. Race winner was Kristian Jones of Swansea Harriers in a swift 25.40. First Harrier was Wattie Mackay, 2nd MV50 in 29.49, followed by Charlie Grimson in 30.11, and Andy Aitken, fresh from his Hebridean half-marathon exploits in 32.58. For the women, race winner was Jenifer Wetton of Central AC in 28.29. First Harriers woman was Maddy Watson, in a very good 35.14, followed by Kerry Sweeney, 6th in her age category in her first championship race of the year, in 36.13, with Nicola Watson in 37.42, 9th in her age category. Championship points were also scored by Tony Wayte, Mark Dillon, Iain Thomson, Lauren Fairweather and Rowan Mestecky.

In the team competitions, the Harriers women were 4th, with the men in 6th position.

Full race results are on the Perth Road Runners website.