Strathearn Harriers - New Year's Day Run 2014

Kinnoull Hill race

Monday, May 23, 2016

A slightly smaller contingent than usual made their way to Perth for the best value race in Scotland, the Kinnoull Hill race, organised by Perth Strathtay Harriers. Despite a poor forecast, weather conditions on the evening were fine, although earlier rain did make some of the descents very slippery.

The race was won by Logan Rees of Fife AC in the very fast time of 24.38, while Edel Mooney of Ochil Hill Runners took the women's race in 29.28. In a change from the past few years, the first Harrier home was under the age of 30 - Aaron Dawson finished in 15th position, in a time of 30.35, with Ben Murphy in 28th position, in 31.40.

Next Harrier in was Tara Forster, but at the time of writing, we don't have a confirmed time or position for her - she was behind Ben, but ahead of Andy Gallagher, so she will have finished in the top 5 or 6. Andy Gallagher, playing his Championship joker, finished in 34.23, while Tony Wayte pipped Wendy Taylor in the final 200 metres, to finish in 35.38, ahead of Wendy's 35.40. Wendy was confirmed in 7th position in the women's race.

Mark Dillon continued his 100% record of Championship races to finish in 38.31, and Rowan Mestecky finished in 46.23.

Unfortunately, Wattie Mackay suffered the same navigational mishap that befell a number of other Harriers a couple of years ago and did not complete the course.