Strathearn Harriers - New Year's Day Run 2014

National Cross-country championships

Monday, February 27, 2017

At the National Cross-country championships at Callendar Park in Falkirk, runners had to contend with some of the deepest mud encountered in the 2016/17 cross-country series. The men’s race was won by Scottish Olympian Calum Hawkins in an outstanding time of 33.34, with the women’s race being won by Morag MacLarty in 38.32.

Top performance for the Harriers came from Maddy Watson, finishing in a very good 10th position in the under-20 women’s race. For the men, leading Harriers Will Manners and Ben Murphy raced hard for the first two laps before Will pulled clear to finish in 42.30 (2nd MV50). Ben finished just 24 seconds behind in 42.54, with Patrick O’Kane finishing in 44.28. Also racing were Phil Mestecky (49.28), Gordon Morrison (56.28) and Iain Thomson (58.59, 3rd MV65). Kerry Sweeney was the lone Harrier in the women’s race finishing in 57.05.

Full results are here.

In the club cross-country championship, Kerry Sweeney took the women’s prize, with Phil Mestecky and Iain Thomson sharing the men’s prize.