Strathearn Harriers - New Year's Day Run 2014

Harriers Ceilidh and prize-giving

Sunday, January 22, 2017

The annual ceilidh and prizegiving was held at Morrison’s Academy on Saturday, with trophy presentations from team captains Phil Mestecky and Nicola Watson, club president Gordon Morrison and championship organiser Tony Wayte.

Club champions Wattie Mackay and Wendy Taylor were presented with their trophies for consistent performances throughout the racing season. This was the third consecutive success for Wattie despite his racing season being curtailed through injury, while Wendy’s win saw her repeat her championship win from 2014.

The President’s Trophies, as voted for by the club membership, were awarded to Nicola Watson and Iain Thomson in recognition of their overall contributions to the club. Achievement awards were presented to 28 runners for their performances over 10k, half-marathon and marathon distances, with Janine Grant, Wendy Taylor, Julia Greenlees, Nicola Watson and Ben Murphy all achieved clean sweeps of Achievement Awards in all three distances, with Janine rounding out her successes with a complete Marcothon.

Lots of dancing was done!

Many thanks to Shelagh Wake and her small army of helpers for organising a terrific event. Same time next year!