Strathearn Harriers - New Year's Day Run 2014

Strathearn Marathon

Sunday, June 11, 2017

The sixth Strathearn Marathon was another keenly contested affair, with a whole clutch of terrific performances on what is becoming established as one of the friendliest and most scenic marathon routes in the country.

Despite ominous weather forecasts, conditions on the day were better than expected, with only occasional showers, which failed to dampen the spirits of the runners, supporters and marshals. There was even the odd burst of sunshine to lighten the proceedings! A good field of 134 runners, along with friends and family, made their way to Cultybraggan Camp, with everyone from marathon novices running their first marathon, to experienced runners with many marathons under their belts. We were delighted to welcome back Ian Beattie, a former member of the club and current Chairman of Scottish Athletics, to act as race starter. Ian is something of a marathon veteran, with well over 100 marathons under his belt, and was happy to run the race in a good time of 3.46.32.

At the sharp end, Rich Myers improved on his 2016 3rd place to win the race in 2.50.48. In 2nd place, and first MV50, was Robert Soutar, in a time of 2.51.21, and 3rd was Greg Walton in 2.52.46. Ben Murphy was first Harrier home in a terrific 4th place, agonisingly close to the 3-hour mark to finish in 3.01.17, to take the prize for first local man, but losing a toenail in the process. Iain Thomson was first MV60, in 3.43.28. Both Ben and Iain achieved Good for Age times for the 2018 London Marathon.

In the women’s race, Fiona Ramsay (Cani-Fit) completed a hat-trick of wins, to finish in 3.12.55, some way clear of Zoey Johnston of Falkland Trail Runners (3.26.57) and Janet Dickson (3.27.13). For the Harriers, Sonja finished 12th woman and 1st local woman, in 4.05.29, and Lauren finished 2nd local woman in 4.16.20. Sonja and Lauren ran the Stirling Marathon three weeks ago and obviously enjoyed it so much they had to come back for more 26 mile punishment. I understand their pre-race preparation included some last-minute hairdressing with Lauren applying her day-job skills to Sonja’s immaculate coiffure.

As is always the case with Harriers races, the runners were superbly supported by the volunteers at Cultybraggan and out on the course, who gave up their time and whose efforts were greatly appreciated by the runners. Extra support came from the Comrie Pipe Band, who popped up in all sorts of unexpected places around the route and gave the runners inspiration and a great sense of occasion. Catering was splendidly provided by the Comrie Allotments, with their cakes getting special praise from the runners and further support was generously given by Crieff Hydro Leisure, Highland Spring, CDT, Comrie First Response, and the Handy Shop, Comrie. Race photography was provided by Gordon Donnachie, and PA support was given by the irrepressible George Carson. Post-race massage was provided by Karen Nicholl and Sianan Jackson.

If you’re on Facebook, you can see Gordon Donnachie’s excellent race photos here. If you’re not on Facebook, you’ll have to put up with mine.

Full race results are here.

All four Harriers played wildcards and jokers to good effect. Top fives in the Championships are:










Andy S



Andy G




















Podium positions


Rich Myers                  2.50.48

Robert Soutar             2.51.21

Greg Walton                2.25.46



Fiona Ramsay (Cani-Fit)                    3.12.55

Zoey Johnston (Falkland Trail Runners)         3.26.57

Janet Dickson                                     3.27.13


Men 40

Iain MacLeod (Corstorphine AAC)      3.09.48


Women 40

Sadie Kemp (Penicuik Harriers)         3.47.03


Men 50

Andy Lafferty (Falkland Trail Runners)           3.12.18


Women 50

Shona Young (Lothian Running Club)            3.29.43


Men 60

Iain Thomson (Strathearn Harriers)    3.43.28


Men 70

Chris Oliver (Hunters Bog Trotters)   4.19.57


Local winners

1st local man Ben Murphy (Strathearn Harriers)        3.01.17

2nd local man Andrew Donaldson                              3.33.24

1st local woman Sonja McFadden (Strathearn Harriers)       4.05.29

2nd local woman Lauren Fairweather (Strathearn Harriers)  4.16.20