Strathearn Harriers - New Year's Day Run 2014

Dunblane 12k and Juniors 2k

Monday, May 29, 2017

Fourteen Harriers made the short hop down to Dunblane to the Dunblane Runners 12k race, the seventh race in the club championship. A special mention goes to the quintet of Roger Goddard, Nicola Watson, Lauren Fairweather, Janine Grant and Andrew Brown, back for more after their efforts at the Stirling Marathon last week. Conditions this week were warm, with only a slight breeze on the homeward stretch to cool the runners.

The race was won by Alistair Masson of Edinburgh University in a time of 41.41, with the women’s race won by Claire Houston of Central AC in 50.53.

First Harrier home, in 9th position overall and 4th MV40 in an excellent time of 45.39 was Roger Goddard, followed by Ben Murphy in 46.46, in 12th position. Extending some way beyond his comfort zone with a race of more than 10k, Wattie Mackay was next, in 14th position overall and 1st MV50 in a time of 48.27. Three runners in the top 15 made us the best-represented club at the sharp end of the race. Making a welcome return to racing, Paul Taylor ran well for his 50.43 in 23rd position. The rest of the Harriers were: Tony Wayte (53.46), Iain Thomson (57.01), Gary Brock (59.15), Al Nicholl (59.33), Nicola Watson (59.52), Lauren Fairweather (1.02.29), Lynne Aitken (1.04.18), Andrew Brown (1.07.56) and Janine Grant (1.10.33).

Full race results are here.

Earlier, the Harriers Juniors made their presence felt at the 2k Juniors race (which turned out to be considerably less than 2k). Levi Sweeney looked very strong, winning the race in fine style, with Duthac Mardon in second place. Not far behind was James Grant in 8th followed by Jamie, Tristan, Jack, Elspeth, Andrew and Ryan.