Strathearn Harriers - New Year's Day Run 2014

Strathearn Marathon

Sunday, June 10, 2018

This year the race attracted a record number of 241 entrants, with 181 runners taking part on the day. Conditions started out as well-nigh perfect, although it did start warming up a bit for the back markers.

The race was won by 2013 winner and course record holder Roger van Gompel of Dundee Hawkhill Harriers in a time of 2.52.12, followed in 2nd place by Marco Consani in 2.52.45, with Rob Soutar 3rd in 2.52.55. The women’s race was won by Jillian Gordon of Kinross Road Runners in a time of 3.18.30, with Fiona Watt of Five Star Active Auchterarder in 3.25.19 in 2nd place and Janet Dickson in 3.26.09

For the Harriers, first home was Daryl van Blerk in 18th position, in a time of 3.18.48. Jim McConnell just missed his 3.30 target to finish in 3.31.31.

First Harrier woman, 5th woman and 1st Local Lady prize winner, was Lauren Fairweather taking 24 minutes off her previous marathon best time  and beating last years time by 40 minutes, to finish in an excellent 3.36.54. This earns Lauren a Good-for-Age time at next year’s London Marathon. Next in was Elaine Moffat in 4.28.57, with Josie Goodfellow in 4.31.27. (All times are provisional.)

Full results are here.